Sensational Sixty

Join me on a journey of reinvention.

Excuses

gainweightcartoonWe all have them.  Excuses.  “There are just so many goodies around Christmas – I can’t miss out.”  “I don’t look so bad – as long as I’m prepared to look in the mirror.”  “That reflection from the store window has GOT to distorted.”  “The lighting in this dressing room is just really bad.”  “Just one time won’t hurt anything.”

Recognize any of them?  We all have the remarkable ability to justify any behavior we want to partake in.  But the fact of the matter is, weight and healthy eating is a CHOICE!  Whether we like it or not, we CHOOSE to allow ourselves to gradually put the weight on and we CHOOSE to ignore it until either we have a health crisis or we start being honest with ourselves.

My serious attempts to lose weight began when I was around 40.  At that time, my motivation was a very slender, fit friend with whom we went on vacation to (skip over this part if you’re shy) nude resorts.  A month or so before each trip, I’d starve myself until I felt comfortable enough to take off my clothes in front of others.  Pretty good motivation, but not very lasting, or healthy.

nuderesort

picture from: http://www.caribbeantravelmag.com/gallery/8-best-all-inclusive-beach-resorts-nudists

That phase was followed by years of trying any diet-of-the-minute:  Low Carb Diet, Atkins, Weight Watchers, Paleo Diet, Grapefruit Diet, Cabbage Soup Diet, 7 Years to Look Younger, Detox Diet, 6 Week Body Makeover, Body by Jake, Eat to Live, No Fat, Full Fat, HCG Diet, Scarsdale Diet, Slim4Life, South Beach, 3 Hour Diet, Zone Diet….and the list goes on and on.  I’m sure many of you have gone through the same thing.  You lose a bit or a lot of weight, you decide to come off the diet and before long, the weight is back, sticking to you like a tic you can’t get rid of.

Enough!  Now is the time to act.  If anything is to slow me down in this next phase of my life, it WILL NOT BE something that I have a choice about.  I have started doing yoga and that is going well.  I feel so good after each class.  Next up is diet.  I don’t know what it will look like yet, but it will definitely be a lifestyle change that I will try to embrace for the rest of my life.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Have you checked your weight lately?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

