Sensational Sixty

Join me on a journey of reinvention.

Weight

It’s official.  I got on the scales the other day and I’m now heavier than I’ve ever been in my life.  How did this happen?  Rather, since I know HOW it happened, why did I LET it happen?

Photos-Model-Twiggy

image from: http://www.fabsugar.com/Photos-Model-Twiggy-3089058

As a child, my grandfather nicknamed me Twiggy.  Remember her from the 60s?  While I certainly wasn’t a super model, I did resemble her is body composition and probably, looking back, metabolism, two words that never entered my mind when I was 18!

In my twenties and thirties, I ate and drank what I wanted, whenever I wanted, occasionally gaining weight, but when my pants got too tight, I just gave up some of the more decadent things and the weight dropped right off. Easy, peasy, no problems.

I noticed around the age of 40, however, that weight didn’t just drop off anymore.  And there is where the weight struggle started, and has remained, for me.  At first, I didn’t know HOW to diet.  Had never had to, so what was the big deal?  Thus began the experimentation stage that I’ve been in ever since.

We are constantly barraged with the information that carrying too much weight is not healthy.   You can’t look in a magazine or watch TV without seeing ad after ad for weight loss products.  As you age, extra weight causes so many physical problems they are too numerous to list here.  For myself, my knees hurt, my back hurts, my stamina sucks and don’t even mention how hard it is to find any clothes that make me look good.  My cholesterol is high (but not too high, thankfully) and I’m blessed with normal blood pressure.  I realize my symptoms are far less than many people around me and around the country.

Nevertheless, the extra weight I carry has started to prevent me from doing some things that I enjoy.  I can’t explore a museum for as long as I’d like  or enjoy a walk on a beautiful day.  DIYing takes more days that it used to, because I can only do so much in a day.  And if I ignore my body and push on through, I definitely pay for it the next day and sometimes the days after that.  I want to be able to feel SEXY again.

As much as I have dragged my feet for the last twenty years, I’ve finally accepted the idea that I MUST lose weight.  Not so much for the way I look (although that is a big factor!), but for my health and for my desire to live the best way I can in this “third act” of my life.  And so, the process and, initially, the research begins.

Do any of you recognize yourself?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

