Sensational Sixty

Join me on a journey of reinvention.

Welcome!

I’m so glad you decided to stop by!

When tthe idea of turning sixty finally sank in to my some-times forgetful brain, my first reaction was actually panic.

YIKES, I’m running out of time!  I don’t FEEL almost 60.  When we were younger, 60 seemed like being on death’s door.  I’m not ready to go!  I have too many things to do!

Yes, I know I could potentially live 20, 30 or 40 more years.  But what do I want those years to look like?  More of the same or something different?   I have always sort of “gone with the flow” in life and career, changing things as opportunities came up and reacting to influences around me more than actually having a life plan and following it.  With less years left to spend than already spent, I think I don’t want to do that anymore.  I want to make sure that the next phase of my life goes in a direction that I choose.  There ARE things that I want to do and feelings that I want to experience and I know that if I don’t make the efforts now, someday it will be too late.

As a member of the Baby Boomer generation, the questions I am going to investigate and come to terms with over the next several months are not new.  You know, the BIG life questions –

What happened to my marriage when I wasn’t looking?

Where did my body go?

What do I do with myself now?

Did I do a good enough job with my children?

No more sex? Really?

What makes life meaningful?

Will anyone miss me when I’m gone?

But they ARE new to me.  I’ve taken a lot for granted over the years and I’m finally realizing that you miss a lot if you kinda skim over the top of life.  I want to make the rest of my life purposeful, fulfilling and exciting. As I read, research and reinvent, I know more questions will occur to me.  I hope those of you reading this blog will join with me in weighing in on these issues and others.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. how nice to meet you. Sixty? That IS sensational. And I so get all that you’re contemplating in this post. We do become reflective. We do tend to focus and pay attention, if we haven’t before. Even if we have lived mindfully, I think some of these benchmarks call for attention. I’m 55 – so not far behind. But am loving this time of life…when I’m not struggling with aspects of it.

    • Nice to meet you, too, Barb. I know what you mean about enjoying it when you’re not struggling. I hope you’ll get a little inspiration out of my wandering thoughts and return frequently. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

